CONSTITUTION OF COMMITTEES, SUB-COMMITTEES AND WORKING GROUPS 2017/2018

Set out below are the proposed Members of the Committees, Sub-Committees and Working Groups for the Civic Year **2017/2018**:

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(16 Members)

Councillor Ian Albert Councillor Clare Billing Councillor John Booth Councillor Bill Davidson **Councillor Steve Deakin-Davies Councillor Elizabeth Dennis** Councillor Jean Green **Councillor Steve Hemingway** Councillor Cathryn Henry Councillor S.K. Jarvis Councillor Ben Lewis **Councillor Gerald Morris** Councillor M.R.M. Muir Councillor Janine Paterson **Councillor Frank Radcliffe Councillor Valentine Shanley**

(Substitutes: Councillors John Bishop, Paul Clark, Simon Harwood, T.W. Hone, Paul Marment, Mike Rice, Adrian Smith and Martin Stears-Handscomb)

FINANCE, AUDIT AND RISK COMMITTEE

(7 Members)

Councillor Ian Albert Councillor John Bishop Councillor Simon Harwood Councillor T.W. Hone Councillor Jim McNally Councillor Deepak Sangha Councillor Terry Tyler

(Substitutes: Councillors Clare Billing, John Booth, Nicola Harris and S.K. Jarvis)

COUNCIL TAX SETTING SUB-COMMITTEE

(5 Members)

Councillor Ian Albert Councillor Julian Cunningham Councillor A.F. Hunter Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham Councillor R.A.C. Thake

(Substitutes: Councillors Sarah Dingley, T.W. Hone and Frank Radcliffe

EMPLOYMENT COMMITTEE

ANNUAL COUNCIL (18.5.17)

(5 Members) Chairman appointed for each meeting

Councillor Judi Billing Councillor Jane Gray Councillor Bernard Lovewell Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham Councillor Frank Radcliffe

(Substitutes: Councillors Julian Cunningham, David Levett and Deepak Sangha)

JOINT STAFF CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE

(5 Members)

Councillor Sarah Dingley Councillor Fiona Hill Councillor Bernard Lovewell Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham Councillor Martin Stears-Handscomb

(Substitutes: Councillors Ian Albert, John Bishop and Michael Weeks)

PLANNING CONTROL COMMITTEE

(15 Members)

Councillor D.J. Barnard Councillor John Bishop Councillor John Booth Councillor Paul Clark Councillor Bill Davidson Councillor Jean Green Councillor Cathryn Henry Councillor Cathryn Henry Councillor Fiona Hill Councillor Tony Hunter Councillor Ian Mantle Councillor Ian Mantle Councillor M.R.M. Muir Councillor Mike Rice Councillor Adrian Smith Councillor Harry Spencer-Smith Councillor Martin Stears-Handscomb

(Substitutes: Councillors Elizabeth Dennis, Sarah Dingley, Faye S. Frost, Gary Grindal, Simon Harwood, Ben Lewis, Valentine Shanley and Terry Tyler)

LICENSING AND APPEALS COMMITTEE

(Pool consisting of 10 to 15 Members) (Usually 14 Members appointed) ANNUAL COUNCIL (18.5.17) Councillor Ian Albert Councillor D.J. Barnard Councillor Elizabeth Dennis Councillor Faye S. Frost Councillor Jean Green Councillor Gary Grindal Councillor Simon Harwood Councillor Ben Lewis Councillor Ben Lewis Councillor Sandra Lunn Councillor Jim McNally Councillor Paul Marment Councillor Gerald Morris Councillor M.R.M. Muir Councillor Mike Rice

CABINET SUB-COMMITTEE (COUNCIL CHARITIES)

(3 Cabinet Members)

Councillor Julian Cunningham (Finance & IT Executive Member) Councillor Bernard Lovewell (Housing & Environmental Health Executive Member) Councillor Michael Weeks (Waste Management, Recycling & Environment Executive Member)

<u>CABINET SUB-COMMITTEE (LOCAL AUTHORITY TRADING COMPANIES'</u> <u>SHAREHOLDER))</u>

(3 Cabinet Members)

Councillor Julian Cunningham (Finance and IT Executive Member) Councillor David Levett (Planning & Enterprise Executive Member) Councillor Ray Shakespeare-Smith (Policy, Transport & Green Issues Executive Member)

BALDOCK & DISTRICT COMMITTEE

(Baldock, Arbury & Weston & Sandon Wards - Parishes of Ashwell, Bygrave, Caldecote, Clothall, Hinxworth, Newnham, Radwell, Rushden, Sandon, Wallington & Weston)

(6 Members)

Councillor S.K. Jarvis Councillor Jim McNally Councillor M.R.M. Muir Councillor Janine Paterson Councillor Valentine Shanley Councillor Michael Weeks

HITCHIN COMMITTEE

(Hitchin and St. Ippolyts (North) Parish ward)

(13 Members)

ANNUAL COUNCIL (18.5.17)

Councillor Ian Albert Councillor Judi Billing Councillor Paul Clark Councillor Elizabeth Dennis Councillor Nicola Harris Councillor Simon Harwood Councillor Bernard Lovewell Councillor Bernard Lovewell Councillor Alan Millard Councillor Frank Radcliffe Councillor Ray Shakespeare-Smith Councillor Adrian Smith Councillor Martin Stears-Handscomb Councillor R.A.C. Thake

LETCHWORTH COMMITTEE

(Letchworth only)

(13 Members)

Councillor Clare Billing Councillor John Booth Councillor Julian Cunningham Councillor Gary Grindal Councillor T.W. Hone Councillor Lorna Kercher Councillor David Levett Councillor Sandra Lunn Councillor Sandra Lunn Councillor Paul Marment Councillor Paul Marment Councillor Mike Rice Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham Councillor Deepak Sangha

ROYSTON & DISTRICT COMMITTEE

(Royston & Ermine Ward - Parishes of Barkway, Barley, Kelshall, Nuthampstead, Reed & Therfield)

(7 Members)

Councillor Bill Davidson Councillor Sarah Dingley Councillor Jean Green Councillor Fiona Hill Councillor Tony Hunter Councillor Ben Lewis Councillor Gerald Morris

SOUTHERN RURAL COMMITTEE

(Parishes of Codicote, Gosmore, Graveley, Great Ashby, Hexton, Holwell, Ickleford, Kimpton, Kings Walden, Knebworth, Langley, Lilley, Offley, Pirton, Preston, St. Ippolyts (South), St. Paul's Walden & Wymondley)

(10 Members)

Councillor D.J. Barnard Councillor John Bishop ANNUAL COUNCIL (18.5.17) Councillor Steve Deakin-Davies Councillor Faye S. Frost Councillor Jane Gray Councillor Steve Hemingway Councillor Cathryn Henry Councillor Harry Spencer-Smith Councillor Mrs C.P.A. Strong Councillor Terry Tyler

STANDARDS COMMITTEE

(12 District Council Members; Independent Person and Reserve Independent Person (advisory roles); 2 Parish Council Members – non-voting co-optees)

(12 District Councillors)

Councillor Judi Billing Councillor Julian Cunningham Councillor Jane Gray Councillor Steve Hemingway Councillor David Levett Councillor Bernard Lovewell Councillor Ian Mantle Councillor Paul Marment Councillor M.R.M. Muir Councillor Frank Radcliffe Councillor Mike Rice Councillor Terry Tyler

(Substitutes:

Councillor Clare Billing Councillor Paul Clark Councillor Nicola Harris Councillor Ben Lewis Councillor Sandra Lunn Councillor Harry Spencer-Smith Councillor Michael Weeks

Independent Person: Mr Nicholas Moss (advisory) Reserve Independent Person: Mr Peter Chapman (advisory)

Parish Councillors Helena Gregory and Robert Logan – non-voting co-optees)

HITCHIN TOWN CENTRE WORKING PARTY

(7 Members)

Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham (Chairman) 3 other Conservative Group vacancies Councillor Ian Albert Councillor Judi Billing Councillor Paul Clark

COMMUNITY FACILITIES CAPITAL GRANTS PANEL

(10 Members)

Councillor Ian Albert ANNUAL COUNCIL (18.5.17) Councillor Clare Billing Councillor Judi Billing Councillor Simon Harwood Councillor Steve Hemingway Councillor Cathryn Henry Councillor Fiona Hill Councillor Jim McNally Councillor Mike Rice Councillor Terry Tyler

CCTV PARTNERSHIP JOINT COMMITTEE

(3 Cabinet Members)

Councillor Julian Cunningham Councillor Tony Hunter Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham

JOINT MEMBER PANEL – LETCHWORTH GARDEN CITY HERITAGE FOUNDATION

(All Members of the Letchworth Committee)